Fun with Sunflowers

This fall my sister-in-law grew some sunflowers. Her family had fun making sunflower seeds with some of the dried sunflower heads. Growing up, my dad did this a few times so I thought I would give it a try. My sister-in-law gave me a sunflower head along with some instrctions to try it out.

Salted Sunflower Seeds

IMG_8115

Here is what you will need:

  • A dried sunflower head
  • Water
  • Salt
  • Container to store the seeds

Rub the seeds off of the sunflower. I ended up with about 4 1/2 cups of seeds. Put them in enough water to cover the seeds, and add 1/4 cup of sea salt. I like a light salt taste. If you like, you could add 1/2 cup of sea salt. Stir it around and let it sit for about 24 hours.

IMG_8105

After about 24 hours passes, drain water from the seeds.

IMG_8106

Pour wet seeds on cookie sheet. Heat oven to 350°.

IMG_8110

Place in oven and bake for 1 hour.

IMG_8111

Let cool and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

