Homemade Thieves Cough Drops…good idea or not?

To DIY or not to DIY: that is the question we each need to make when reading some of the do-it-yourself items. There are just some things that I would rather buy than make.

With the cooler weather coming, so comes the inevitable colds and other sicknesses. With that in mind I decided that this year I would try making some homemade remedies in preparation for the cold season. One of the items on my list was cough drops. So I set out to try to replicate those ever-famous Thieves Cough Drops made by Young Living.

Homemade Thieves Cough Drops

Here is what you will need:

  • 1 cup Honey
  • 1 teaspoon Coconut Oil
  • 10 drops Thieves essential oil
  • 5 drops Lemon essential oil
  • Powdered Sugar

Add coconut oil to pan.

IMG_7045

Add honey.

IMG_7050

Bring honey and coconut oil to 300° using a candy thermometer. It will take about 20 minutes on medium heat.

IMG_7051

Stir frequently and turn burner to low to prevent it from boiling over. 

IMG_7056

Turn off heat and allow contents to cool.

IMG_7060

Once it starts thickening, you can add your essential oils.

IMG_7063

You can add more or less, to taste.

IMG_7062

All is well up until this next part. Since I do not own any silicone mold ice cube trays, I found someone online saying they used a powdered sugar method for making cough drops. So I tried it out. All you have to do is put some powdered sugar on a cookie sheet, make a little divot for the liquid to go into, and you’re good to go. Well, as simple as that sounds, it did not work out that simply for me.  If this person really does this, I am not sure what their trick is, but they really should share it.

IMG_7043

Here is what happened to me…

IMG_7064

IMG_7067

Not the round shape I wanted, but I can roll with it…

IMG_7068

Umm yeah, that is not going to work…the mix is harding too fast.

IMG_7069

Being the flexible person that I am…I moved on to plan B: roll them by hand.

IMG_7074

This worked fine; just took more time then I had planned for.

IMG_7077

In the end it was fine. I got the cough droops I set out for. Just not the way I planned it and way more time than I wanted to spend on it. Over an hour…

IMG_7085

They tasted great and for a few days were good. I did notice they were sticking together a little, but the powdered sugar was touted as being able to keep them from sticking together. Trusting that this was the truth, I left them in the kitchen cupboard. Next time I checked, this is what I found…

IMG_7365

Yep, it was a hard blob. Gerrr. At this point I would like to say I am planning to just buy this item unless I personally see someone make their own successfully.

Being the frugal person that I am, I could not throw out this flop. Now I just heat it up with my mug warmer before I use it. The sad part is I did not what to heat it up after the essential oils were added.

IMG_9292

This post just goes to show you that not everything I try works out perfectly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

