Air Freshener Candle

Our cozy little home has only two closets in it. One is for our clothes in the bedroom and the other is a small bathroom linen closet. I don’t have the room to store all our linens, extra blankets and towels in the bathroom, so I use some plastic crates and an ottoman with storage built in. These are great ways to store things; however, I do notice a plastic/store smell to some items that have been stored for longer periods of time. I set out to make some air fresheners for them.

Here is what you will need:

  • Mug warmer
  • Glass jar
  • Beeswax or other wax
  • Essential Oils of choice

Air Freshener Candle

I took out my mug warmer and a clean baby food jar…

IMG_9298

…added some beeswax to the jar and let it melt.

IMG_7437

Once the wax is melted, remove from heat and add essential oils–as much or as little as you like.

IMG_7441

Let harden and then place in the storage container. Be sure that it will not be near a vent as you don’t want it to melt onto your linens and blankets. My home stays pretty cool all year long and I do not put them near a vent. I have not had a problem with them melting yet. You could punch holes in the lid of the jar if you want to have a cover.

IMG_9303

I have also added essential oils to a cotton ball inside the jar, topped off with a piece of cloth over the opening, and that worked ok too.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

